Strange Frontier

Documented Timeline:

  • 1983:
    • Spring: Roger writes a letter to the Fan Club and reports he's done some work in Switzerland with John Deacon and Richard Parfitt.
    • Autumn: The Fan Club announces the album will be released in December and name-checks some of the tracks intended for it at that point: 'Keep on Running', 'Masters of War', 'Strange Frontier' and 'Beautiful Dreamer' (sic).
  • 1984:
    • June:
      • Monday 4th: Lead single, 'Man on Fire' / 'Killing Time', is released in the UK.
      • Monday 25th: Album released in the UK.
    • July:
      • Monday 30th: Sophomore single, 'Strange Frontier' / 'I Cry for You', is released in the UK.

Documented Venues:

  • Mountain Studios in the Casino Barrière on 9 Theatre Road, Montreux, Vaud 1820, Swiss Confederation.
  • Musicland Studios in the Arabella House basement, Munich, Bavaria 81925, Federal Republic of Germany.

Documented Personnel:

  • Performers:
    • John Deacon: Electric bass.
    • Brian May: Electric guitar (?).
    • Richard Parfitt: Electric guitar.
    • David Richards: Analogue and digital synthesisers, acoustic piano (?).
    • Roger Taylor: Lead and backing vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, acoustic and electronic drums, analogue and digital synthesisers, electric bass, acoustic piano (?).
  • Studio Crew:
    • Reinhold Mack: Co-producer, chief engineer.
    • David Richards: Co-producer, chief engineer.

Documented Instruments:

  • Electric Guitars:
    • Fender Esquire.
    • Fender Stratocaster.
    • Fender Telecaster.
    • Schecter.
  • Keyboards:
    • Oberheim OB-Xa Analogue Synthesiser.
    • Roland Jupiter 8 Analogue Synthesiser.
    • Steinway B 6' 10" Acoustic Piano: Switzerland.
    • Yamaha C-7 7' 5" Acoustic Piano: West Germany.